I recently came across a blog with an argument that Gordon Ramsey was the ultimate educator.  You can read it here.  Interesting position, to say the least.  

I went to a Catholic grade school and was taught by alot of nuns.  One nun in particular seemed to have quite an axe to grind against a bunch of fourth graders.  She was nasty, bitter and not very supportive.  A real joy for a teacher to a 9 year old.  

But she taught me to write.  She taught me the basics of a sentence.  I even picked up a few things about our country and our government that would be built upon by later teachers.  But she was belittled alot of little kids along the way.  I can recall more than one kid in my class being reduced to tears for not being able to explain a verb quick enough.  So aside from the less than positive atmosphere, was it an acceptable learning experience?  I learned some stuff so isn’t that what matters?  

Educators have more responsibility to the learner than just delivering content.  They are responsible for creating an environment that is conducive to learning.  They are there to guide the learner, not just treat them like a horse being led to a trough and then yelling, “drink”.  

To ignore Ramsey’s behavior on the show as he fixes a mess is kind of like asking Mrs Lincoln how the play was.  I will fully admit that I also enjoy watching the shows and seeing him lay into some chef that is neglect in his duties in the kitchen.  But to forget that it is a piece of entertainment rather than him just shining his ever loving light on other chefs for the greater good is missing the point.  To accept the premise that he is the ultimate educator is to accept the idea that the ends justify the means.  

Now if he could only help me on my quest to create the perfect loaf of italian bread, but I am not sure that I am emotionally ready for that kind of training. 

 

